Strings on guitar with Floyd Rose

SPW

Hello,

I have a new Custom 24 Floyd (got it last month) and I want to buy some strings in case I have a string that breaks. As I have no experience with a Floyd Rose (but watched some tutorials to learn how to restring the guitar), I want to keep the exact same string gauges in order not to have to adjust the spring tension. It will be sufficiently complicated to change the strings for the first time and I want it to be as easy as possible. I can always experiment with different gauges later when I’m more comfortable.

The problem is that I do not know exactly which strings I currently have. On a paper that came with the guitar it was mentioned 10s, but when I wanted to buy new strings, I saw that there are 10-46 as well as 10-52 gauge strings. The 10-46 seem the most common to me, so I guess it’s probably those? Any thoughts?

And 2nd question: I wanted to try « all fourths » tuning (EADGCF). Am I safe using this tuning with standard strings and the Floyd Rose? (after all it’s only tuned up a semi-tone on the 2 thinnest strings). I did not dare to try it out yet, since I currently have no extra strings… Will it require to change the spring tension?

Many thanks for your help.

Steve

10-46 Is A Safe Bet On Strings.

On String Changes...Change One Individual String At A Time. Don't Cut All The Strings At Once! In Fact, Never Cut All Strings At Once On Tension On Any Guitar...EVER.

You Should Be Fine With That Tuning With Those Strings And I Don't Suspect You Will Need To Change Spring Tension.

Any Other Questions, Please Ask And I Will Do My Best To Help You (As Will Many Others Here).

Congrats On Your New Guitar...Good Luck And Enjoy It!

Reactions: SPW
Probably 10-46.

If you swap strings and you're tuned to the pitch you want just check that the floyd is parallel to the body or very close.

If it's not then adjust the two screws that hold the spring claw to the body inside trem cavity.