NEW USER... HELP!

delucmi

I have been playing since 1978 and never held a PRS until last week...

I have always been buying and selling guitars and am I'm love with the process. After selling my Music Man JP this week I think there is no other guitar I can replace it with but a PRS. I held an American made PRS and a Santana edition model made overseas and, frankly, BOTH blew me away. I am bit for sure. There was a feel to the neck that I have never experienced.

So here is why I am here...

As I have no experience with PRS I am overwhelmed with models and options. Can YOU recommend what I should review based on these few personal preferences:
  • Solid Body
  • Bird Inlays
  • NO Trem - solid bottom bridge for me.
  • PIEZO preffered
  • NOT a solid finish - the woods here are too beautiful to paint over (sunburst OK)

I am searching local dealers, eBay and CraigsList but at this point I am just confused. I only know I need to get here FAST!

THANKS!

I'd say a custom 24 is a MUST audition. It is the quintessential PRS IMO. However, I prefer the 22 frets of the Custom 22.
Both are available with piezo

Last edited:
If you need a piezo then you will be limited to either a P22 or a P24 based on your other criteria. Those are literally the only options off-the-peg that fit that list. If you go Private Stock though of course you can have whatever you want!

Whether you go 22 or 24 will depend on whether you prefer 24 fret guitars over 22 and the associated sounds/feel... they are otherwise extremely similar.

If it were me trying to fit a guitar to that list I would look for a P22 from last year's production - one with 53/10 pickups. They switched this year to 57/08 pickups which are just fine but the 53/10s are something special.

As noted before....

Look at the P22

Take a look on the official PRS page for the specs....and avail colors

I have the P22 Trem...and yes, they are very versatile guitars. You won't be disappointed!!

Tony