How do I quit squeezing the hell out of the strings?

pgj

Been playing for about a total of 6 months or so and still find myself strangling the neck and strings so hard that it often makes the chords go out of tune. Is there a drill, exercise, secret trick to stop doing that? I've built up some decent callouses on my fingertips, but they are no match for my ham-fisted fingerstyle. Suggestions?

If you find a good way let me know. I've been playing for many, many years (afraid to count them up) and I tend to play with a death grip. I'm trying to lighten up but it's gonna take some time to break the many, many years of an ingrained bad habit.

Took me years of consciously thinking about it to somewhat alleviate it. I’m much better about it now but sometimes I really get into it and it comes back.

I’ve been playing for just shy of four years. I still grip the neck to hard, but I can tell that I don’t grip it as hard as I used to. I didn’t really notice it until a couple of nights ago.

I spent a while drilling myself every time I picked up a guitar. I'd start by gripping the neck, and then fretting and picking a single string. Then, I would lighten my finger pressure until the notes died. Then, I'd try to remember that feeling and sensation. I'd do it over and over again for a little bit, before moving on to funner stuff.

These days, I spend a lot fo time playing, but my grip is so light, that I don't have callouses any more. And, I play electric, acoustic, whatever... I was gigging decently in 2018 (before a cross country move and knee surgery), and playing a lot... and still, no callouses.

Now, if I could just my right hand to move faster (and stay in time)...