*UPDATE NGD* [QUESTION: (semi)affordable semi-hollow PRS w/ a Satin Neck]

lituga

Hey all! I have been a long time player and fan of PRS, cutting my teeth on three SE models.

Now it's time that I finally move up to the US -- and I am inches away from buying a CE 24 semi-hollow!!
basically the only thing I might change on that guitar is to make it set neck in an ideal world.

So what other PRS fit these four criteria?
1. Less than $3k used
2. Semi-hollow
3. Satin Neck
4. Tremolo
(5 optional). Set Neck

I saw a Wood Library Custom 22 Semi-Hollow Walnut that looks awesome..but that has a glossy neck :oops:

Thanks!

Last edited:
I'm a relative newbie but I don't think I've ever seen a satin neck on an SE guitar..

Vela semi hollow comes in a satin finish. Otherwise I believe there have been some CE24 runs with satin necks, but I’m not sure if that was ever on a semi hollow version.

@opnoob I have not either, although I believe there were actually a couple of them. But I'm going USA for this one!

@andy474x I believe all CE24s come with a satin neck! Including the semi-hollow I tried out a few days ago. I edited the post bc I forgot to add trem as another requirement, so Vela is out.

@Bogner good point I have been wanting to try that..but will start on my $130 geet first before jumping to $2300 lol

@Bogner good point I have been wanting to try that..but will start on my $130 geet first before jumping to $2300 lol
Coward... ;)

I Don't Blame You. It Can Easily Be Done With The Right Products. There Are Also Videos Out There Showing How Do It. Still, I Understand The Hesitation. I Have Done It To A Few Of My Guitars And Got The Desired Result I Was After But Those Were All Maple Necks.

You can always "satin-ize" a glossy neck by lightly rubbing it with a green Scotch Brite pad until you get your desired level. Some folks use steel wool, but I'd avoid that because of the chance of metal filings getting in/on your pickups