Private Stock peeps...

thewesdavis

I know this is always the place to come for encouragement lol. But besides "do it!" from the masses, I am looking for feedback specifically from Private Stock owners:
Is it worth it? Is the build quality truly so extremely high that the cost is warranted?

I'm looking for something fairly unique (not offered in any iteration of stock options, past or present) - but I am also not a professional player - so I am wondering if I just need to suck it up and "make do" with my cores.

One must consider the diminishing returns. With all products in the PRS line, I think you have diminishing returns as you move up. From SE to S2, are they worth twice the money (as in plays twice as good)? Same thing from S2 to CE or S2 to Core. Plays or sounds twice as good, I personally don't think so. And then of course, Core to PS, worth 2, 3, 4 times as much as a core. I don't think so from a playing perspective. But all of those steps up do improve some IMO, just not as much as the price increases might lead one to believe.

That said, they do have value. I think the better a player you are, the more value you can see in a PS. I suck and do not deserve a PS based on my skill level, but I have one because it commemorated a very special moment in my life and I will keep it till the day I die. I have 3 PRSi, Core CU24, McCarty 594 HBII Wood Library and a PS CU24. The biggest differences for me between my core guitars and the PS do not for me justify the price difference, but as I said, that is not why I chose to plunk down the extra dollars.