Stag 'O Lee

IKnowALittle

I've been playing this song for thirty years or so, and this is how I've always played it (mostly).
Very traditional.

Then I found and watched this. Love it.
This is the Dark Side.
Check it out. Très Bon

Last edited by a moderator:
NSFW warning on the Nick Cave video, BTW.

Yes! The Nick Cave version is about as dark and intense as it gets. He recorded it for an album called Murder Ballads, which is a collection of songs about, you guessed it, murder. A macabre, but wonderful album.

Never really listened to much Nick Cave. I have to say, if the Doors had done this song, it would've sounded a lot like the Nick Cave version. I dig it. Dark it is.

Love Mississippi John Hurt!

Never really listened to much Nick Cave. I have to say, if the Doors had done this song, it would've sounded a lot like the Nick Cave version. I dig it. Dark it is.

Love Mississippi John Hurt!

We are in the same boat. I had never heard of Nick Cave, was just checking out the 40th anni of ACL, and there he was.
I really don't know why, but I quite like him ... have to check out more of his music.

And, don't forget this ...

We are in the same boat. I had never heard of Nick Cave, was just checking out the 40th anni of ACL, and there he was.
I really don't know why, but I quite like him ... have to check out more of his music.

And, don't forget this ...

SRV, gotta love it. Kenny is a worthy stand in. At least I think so. Was fortunate enough to see Stevie a half dozen times, including the night before he died. Always wondered how he'd be carrying the torch if he were around today.

I dig the vibe and darkness of the Cave version. At some point the F-bomb just felt overdone to me. I think it has more impact if would’ve been used less.

The language in the Nick Cave version ruined it for me.

I get, to some extent, when artists want to put their own slant on a song, but almost universally, I prefer original versions by original artists.