My DGT SE Experience and impartial review

BrettC37

Hello All,

New to the forum here and new to PRS. I've always admired Paul Smith, the PRS story and have spent mega hours going down the rabbit hole on youtube watching PRS related content. I've got a bunch of guitars, but never owned a PRS and couldn't justify the jack for Core models and the long wait. I'm not a pro, just a long-time player and guitar/gear enthusiast. When the DGT SE was announced and having been a big fan of David G and all the rave over the new DGT SE, I had to have one. Like many, I jumped on the Sweetwater waiting list in 2023 and finally received my tobacco sunburst last fall after 6-9 months and a long journey on a slow boat from Indonesia.

My story hasn't been quite as blissful as many I've read, and I'll explain. This isn't a rant or anti-PRS fake news, just my humble experience. Like cars and everything else we buy, sometimes the quality of an individual unit just doesn't hold up to the hype and we get a lemon. I hope my experience is an exception to the rule, and I suspect it is. I was thrilled with the look and feel of the guitar upon initial unboxing. Beautiful instrument, great feeling neck! Then the not-so-much-fun part emerged quickly. I had several issues right out of the box. First was loss of signal. I removed the control cavity plate and one of the soldered ground connections on a pot housing had popped off. No biggie I thought, and fixed it.