In 2020, I will be buying my first PRS guitar, the 594

Revelation

I'm a blues, rock, and jazz player (Sort of like a Larry Carlton,Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck player). I have been playing guitar for over 25 years. I have a Les Paul Custom signed by Les Paul that I will be giving to my son when he graduates college in 2021. I have a Fender American Strat and Telecaster as well and a Carvin SH575 which is my jazz type of guitar. I always loved PRS guitars and with my brother having two of them, I knew I had to get one. Out of all the guitars, the 594 does it for me the most.

I decided on the Tobacco Burst and it will be replacing my Les Paul as I want the more traditional look. I have a couple of questions:

What is a 10 Top? I assume it means the maple top is a better choice top than the standard? I believe it would be worth the extra money to get it.

What strings come standard with a PRS guitar? Some have said the bottom strings are heavier than the higher strings. I usually use 10's on my guitar with the exception of 11's on my Carvin 575. What are the gauges, and if they are not standard strings, would you recommend staying with them, or do most of you just put 10's or 9's if you prefer on your guitar?

As I have a deep appreciation for well made guitars, is there a site or someplace where I can obtain a little more detail about PRS and specifically the 594?

Hi, Rev,

A 10 top is the first grade upwards from a standard top, meaning the maple top has some flame figuring. 10 tops vary in quality and figuring from guitar to guitar, and can be wide flame, or very tight flame. On some 10 tops, there might be some spots where the flame seems to die out into a more standard-graded flame, but these are rare and folks sometimes appreciate these as well, because they might be sold for less cost because of the "defective" flame.

Others can teach you what goes beyond 10 tops, grading-wise.