How would you compare / contrast the DGT and Studio?

Markcarl

I’m pretty new to PRS guitars. My 1st PRS was an SE DGT. At first I wasn’t used to the big frets. Now I wish all my guitars had the jumbo frets. That SE was the gateway drug for me. I was so impressed with it I ended up getting a core DGT and then another core DGT. Some things that I really like about the DGT are:

- The tonal versatility of the guitar. I can get traditional humbucker sounds and more chimey tones with the split coils.

- The simplicity of the controls. There’s only one pull switch to go into coil split mode and one tone control. But, there’s a separate volume for each pickup. I really like this configuration!

- The split coil sounds - especially with both neck and bridge pickup enabled. I can get a lot of different sounds by varying the ratio of the neck volume control and bridge volume control. Right now I’m playing in split coil mode around 90% of the time.

- The PRS tremolo is so much nicer than what I have on my Stratocaster. I don’t really notice a difference between the SE and core tremolo. I know the PRS tremolo isn’t unique to the DGT.

I recently played a PRS Studio model at a local guitar shop and was blown away with the tone of the guitar. The shop has a lot of good guitars and that one was my favorite. I really liked the tone of the narrowfield pickups. I may actually prefer their tone to the split coil sounds on the DGT. I wish I would’ve had a DGT on hand so I could compare them side by side. I went on the PRS website to look at the specs for the Studio guitar. I see now that there is only one volume on the guitar. I kind of wish there was a separate volume for each pickup. I know that’s something I like a lot about the DGT. If the Studio only had two pickups I think having separate volume controls for each pickup would be ideal. Since the Studio has 3 pickups, it may be too messy / cumbersome to have a separate volume control for each pickup?