Considering ordering Private Stock. Any advice for a first-timer?

Sage

While you were partying I studied the guitar.
I'm considering ordering a Private Stock for the first time. I'm wondering if you guys have any advice on who to go through, what to look for in a dealer, what sort of issues I might run into and how to avoid any problems.

My first dilemma is that my local dealer, Guitar Resurrection (http://guitarrez.com/) is an authorized PRS dealer and can do Private Stock orders, but I'm not sure how personal the process will be through them as opposed to one of the dealers here on the forums. Any thoughts?

Oh, and specs:

McCarty 24 Semi-Hollow, wide-thin neck circa 2008
Quilted maple top & back, mahogany sides and neck, rosewood fretboard (maybe ebony?)
Plate-style bridge, Phase II locking tuners, Volume/Tone/5-way rotary
57/08 pickups
Aqua Violet wraparound finish (no binding)
Haven't decided on inlays yet.

Last edited:
There are a few other threads on this you might want to search out to get additional ideas.

First consider if you want to go to the vault (which I highly recommend - it makes the whole thing more personal and you get to ask Paul and Tina questions). If that is important, ask Guitar Resurrection if they go to the vault to build or build remotely. If they go, no reason not to work with them.

If you feel the need to work with someone else, JD at Guitar Maverick and Brian at Guitar Sanctuary are both great guys not too far away. Both stores are north side of Dallas, but JD is probably in Austin more than Dallas. I've also worked with Doug and Wildwest Guitars and he goes to the vault fairly frequently.

If you don't go to the vault, most of the dealers will email/skype with you to work through the wood and other selections.

You have a pretty good handle on what you want, so it should be pretty straight forward. PIck wood and finalize the little choices.