How to order a PRS Private Stock guitar…

Psydoc

I am a 63 year old physician who is merely an “early intermediate“ player and hobbyist, one with more money than common sense.. I own a red, core 305 and a black cherry, core Custom 22 ten-top, both bought new through Sam Ash Music in Columbus, OH. At any rate, last summer, I began thinking about ordering a private stock guitar, and finally in January the order sheet was finalized and I paid the dealer a 50% deposit. The guitar will be here in about 12 months or so do to a huge backlog of orders at PRS.

As you can well imagine, the entire process was quite a learning experience, so I thought I might recount some points that are good to keep in mind if you ever decide to build a private stock guitar…

1) As an individual, unless you are someone like Robben Ford, PRS only sells its guitars through its network of dealers, and that includes ordering a private stock instrument. It must go through a dealership, and I have nothing but good things to say about Sam Ash Music and general manager Jacob Young, who worked with me tirelessly throughout the process. Our PRS Private Stock advisor who oversaw everything and solved multiple problems was a gentleman named Michael Robb. Dozens of emails went back-and-forth and there were numerous phone conversations as well over the course of things. Lots of photos of guitar colors went back-and-forth.

2) How much is this going to cost? I asked, and for quite a while there, things were rather murky. I ordered a Custom 22 in Natural mahogany body; curly maple top; all maple neck, fingerboard, headstock; tremolo; onyx bird inlays; nickel hardware; I forget the pick ups! Santana Yellow (no burst!). This is a very low-key private stock guitar we’re talking about. For what it cost, you could buy three or four new core guitars. In any event, when your order sheet is finalized, you pay a 50% deposit.
And then you wait…