1994 PRS CE 22 - Dragon 1 swap or sell

Evan_lonergan

Hey I’m new to this so hang with me here. I just picked up my first real PRS, a 1994 CE 22, that is all original. I traded my Les Paul Studio for it with the thought of getting a more of a Les Paul sound but with the feel of a strat. I was shocked as to how much I hate the Dragon 1 pickups.

I’m torn between swapping the pickups out and getting rid of the 5 way rotary switch or just trying to sell the guitar and try getting something closer to what I’m looking for.

I would hate to destroy any resale value of the guitar because I know the Dragon 1s are so sought after and something just doesn’t feel right messing with a guitar after it was left all original after almost 30 years.

Do I swap the pickups and make this a forever guitar or do I keep it all original and try to find someone who will appreciate the dragons?

Hey I’m new to this so hang with me here. I just picked up my first real PRS, a 1994 CE 22, that is all original. I traded my Les Paul Studio for it with the thought of getting a more of a Les Paul sound but with the feel of a strat. I was shocked as to how much I hate the Dragon 1 pickups.

I’m torn between swapping the pickups out and getting rid of the 5 way rotary switch or just trying to sell the guitar and try getting something closer to what I’m looking for.

I would hate to destroy any resale value of the guitar because I know the Dragon 1s are so sought after and something just doesn’t feel right messing with a guitar after it was left all original after almost 30 years.

Do I swap the pickups and make this a forever guitar or do I keep it all original and try to find someone who will appreciate the dragons?
I'd leave it stock and if it's not the right sounding guitar for you then sell it.

You'll get more for it stock.

Stock wiring and Dragon I's are what those of us who love 90's CE22's and 24's, and the Dragon I's, are looking for.