what to switch to from archon?

__TX__

Howdy, PRSers. I have a 100W Archon, which I really like but don't LOVE. I have it up for sale and considering using the $ for another PRS amp or trading for one. I'm new to the PRS line and haven't really followed what Doug and the guys have been doing. So I'm looking for advice on what PRS amp I should be looking into for a great clean (hopefully a lot like the Archon) and yet can do more of the edge of breakup through to medium high gain..

one thing about my archon is how good it feels to play. the response. hopefully, other PRS amps have that immediacy of response.

Any chance we can talk you into a single channel amp? In the current PRS line, the only 2-channel amp other than the Archon is the 2-Channel Custom. That's a great amp too, but for my tastes, the "edge of breakup" isn't what I'd associate with it. HX/DA will do that fantastic, but it won't give you pristine cleans like the Archon does no matter how you dial it in. The DG30 will give you better cleans than the HX/DA will as a single channel amp, and will also do a very different style of "edge of breakup" that I actually prefer. But my sense is that the Marshall heritage of the HX/DA is more of a crowd pleaser. It can do everything from cranked JTM45 to full-on tricked out plexi.

If you're up for used, I personally find that the old 2-Channel C is pretty darn good at the edge of breakup thing...but again, that's my personal taste. Clean channel is great also.

thanks, guys. i am also considering putting some 12AT7s in the 2 gain sockets to see what that does to the gain channel. anyone done this?