Talk to me about PG/MEV bridge pickup

Skeeter

So, I’ve had a couple 408s, and my SH 408 is arguably my favorite guitar. So I have a good idea of what the narrow pup sounds like in the neck. I think it’s amazing split, and really sounds Strat-like more than any split humbucker I’ve ever encountered.

As a full humbucker, I appreciate the narrower field for more precision in faster more technical lead playing. However, tbh I really like it much better in the semi-hollow body, just because it sounds bigger and fuller to my ears - more like a traditional neck hb IMHO.

Now with the release of the MEV and all the amazing pup combinations (I don’t know how PRS will ever top this in terms of versatility!! - but I’m sure this was said with the 513 and others ). Obviously this is a really intriguing guitar.

Having never had access to a Paul’s Guitar, I have no experience playing the 408 neck pup in the bridge. So I wanted to hear from all you PG owners, and obviously those fortunate enough to have a MEV already, about how it sounds.

I imagine it’s excellent for cleans, especially split (and actually usable clean as a full humbucker in the bridge?). So I guess I’m more curious how it handles some dirt, across the spectrum. Does it lack the fullness of a traditional hb? Any comparables in the PRS pup lineup that seem close or a good way to describe/measure it?

Thanks for any info guys!

I have had a few guitars with narrow 408s in the bridge - 2 Paul's Guitars, a Brent Mason, and now an ME V. The older narrow 408s sounded better to me than the new TCI version. The "tuned bass note" seems like it adds a flub to the tone when in humbucker mode.

I actually went out with the ME-V and auditioned amps to use with it because it has been very "picky" about many factors. It seems to be a guitar that WANTS to be used in single coil mode because that is where it shines.