Static build up

Cliff Climber

Hello all I am very new to this and not to computer savy. I have a McCarty 594 I just purchased in March. I am having an issue with static on the selector switch plate screws on the back. anytime I touch them my amp makes a crackle sound. I have a couple amps and it does it through all of them. any help would be greatly appreciated. I have a Fender delux and a gibson les paul custom and it has never been an issue with them. love the PRS but hate the static

I have this issue with my Teles. You can take a anti-static dryer sheet and rub it in the area that the static is present. This is temporary and you'll likely have to do it every now and again. Also, I have no idea what this may or may not do to the finish.

Just thinking out loud here, but you could run a ground to the screws and quiet it down. There is a ground on the back of the switch so just run a wire to one of the screws under the plastic cover and it should drive the noise to ground.

I have this issue with my Teles. You can take a anti-static dryer sheet and rub it in the area that the static is present. This is temporary and you'll likely have to do it every now and again. Also, I have no idea what this may or may not do to the finish.

I also have the same issue with some of my teles. I have noticed the static pop is dependent on the room/environment. There's a venue I play in MN and it's the worst probably because the stage seems to be isolated and carpeted and the humidity is usually pretty low.

Thank you, I did try this. I took the back plate of my selector switch off and rubbed it with dryer sheet still has static. I sent the guitar back and the actually got sent back to PRS which I thought was cool, PRS really stands behind there products.