So, I may be a sap...

GADonis

Beautifully Broken
Okay, to be honest I probably am a sap. So here's the abridged story. I've been playing in a blues band for about two years. Several weeks ago the leader, we'll call him Kyle because that's his name, told me he convinced his guitar player from his home town to move and he was going to start using him as his guitar player. This was a young guy that Kyle had kind of taken under his wing, both musically and real life, before moving away. At first I was pissed, but I got over it fairly quickly. So I played my last gig with him and we shook hands parting amicably. We talked it out and I was okay with it. He told me that as far as local guitar players he wouldn't choose anyone over me. That was just flattery, but hey, it was nice to hear. There are several killer guitar players in this town. I even told him that if he needed a fill in he could call me. I should mention that Kyle is a pretty good front man. He has a the ability to get a crowd and to hold on to them for most of the night. Pretty good for the local bar scene. And while he is quite opinionated, he's not a bad guy.

So two weeks later he called me. The new guy had hurt his back sleeping on an air mattress that went flat overnight and he couldn't move the day of the gig. At first I declined the fill in. Okay, maybe I wasn't completely over it. But after some thought I told him I would do it if he couldn't find anybody else. He couldn't so I played. Gig went great. It was in a nice bar, plenty of beautiful young ladies drunkenly dancing and having a good time. That was last Saturday.

I just received a text from Kyle asking if I could rejoin the band. I don't know what happened but he said he was going to have to send his guy back home. I've never met the guy but I think he's early twenties. I'm guessing there is no lack of drama in his life at the moment. He also told me that I should punch him in the face if he ever suggests bringing the kid back down.