SE QC issues?

fordfanjpn

I'm a new SE owner with a Silver Sky, a 594 and a DGT. First let me say that I love all 3 guitars and the DGT has become my #1 since I got it. They are truly amazing guitars for the price. But I have had a few issues.

The Silver Sky had a loose nut that was off center by a few millimeters. It was an easy fix though. A friend of mine who has the same 3 guitars is having trouble with the switch on his Silver Sky. Hopefully a cleaning will take care of it, but it is a brand new guitar.

When I got the 594 it hummed like crazy. Far worse than any single coil guitar I have. It was completely unusable for recording, and I was not able to track down any reason for it. I should point out that I'm an electronics technician so I'm no stranger to wiring problems. I ended replacing the pickups and all the wiring and now it sounds amazing. My friend who also has a 594 decided to replace his pickups and when he took out the old ones, instead of 594 pickups there were DGT pickups. They work fine but they weren't 594 pickups.

And finally, when I got my DGT, the volume pots weren't working correctly, so I had a look inside and found that they had been wired incorrectly. Instead of the pickups being wired to the top of the pots, they were wired to the wipers. Again, an easy fix, but you have to wonder how that got by QC.

Add these things to stories I've seen on the Internet of people having wiring problems with SE guitars, and it certainly calls into question the supposedly famous PRS QC. However, in spite of these problems, I still think these are some of the best guitars I've owned and plan to get a couple more. But I do feel sorry for people who have these kinds of problems and aren't able to sort them out for themselves.

Just a few thoughts. I certainly don't mean to bash PRS and hope most people are enjoying their SE guitars without any problems. But maybe PRS should have a closer look at the wiring department in their Indonesian factory.