SE Nut - Why the hostility?

1esotericguy

I'm a new PRS SE owner. Never had one before. It's awesome. Custom 24-08 in Eriza Green. And I'm assuming it's a 2021.

In reading up on forums and interwebs, it seems there's been a consistent historical distaste and hatred for the SE nuts. I was about to swap mine out, just because I read it so many times in resaerching this guitar.

Here's the part I don't get from reading all the threads. When I started playing guitar, it was kind of understood that a NON locking trem was not going to stay in tune too well on heavy use, much less divebomb use. That's what Floyds are for. Even when Fender did the roller nut on the Strat Plus - it didn't really work. I don't know why that's different now, but it seems like everyone who gets an SE changes the nut because of binding at the nut when they divebomb. It's weird to me. I wouldn't even put that expectation on a NON locking trem.

That said, I did go in and fan out the exits of my nut slots with sandpaper, so the slot exits now align with the string exit angle. And I also put some nut sauce in the slots and at the saddles. My trem with stock nut holds tune fine. I can play the intro to Wicked Game 10 times in a row, and I don't get any binding at the nut. Not sure why I read so many others going crazy about swapping nuts right away on SE's. Did production improve nut material recently or something? The nut I have is totally adequate. I'm just coming from the 90's when you just accepted that you had to do all kinds of voodoo engineering to make a regular strat trem even have a chance of holding tune. I'm just surprised reading that people now expect so much tuning stability from a non locking trem these days. (Although I have Gotoh 510's on other guitars that do work really well - but I consider that a miracle, not the norm for stock.)