No pickguard for Custom?

Mathachew

I started playing in July 2017 on acoustic and am preparing to get an electric. I haven’t quite figured out what guitar I want, but PRS is the front runner as I liked how they felt most.

One thing I am concerned with is scuffing up whatever beauty I end up buying. I have my eye on several Custom models, but I noticed none of them have a pickguard, nor am I able to find any that I can add like with the S2. Are there really no options? I couldn’t find any threads on that specifically, but I’m relatively new to electric, so maybe I overlooked it. I prefer to not scuff my guitar with the pick if I can help it, and a pickguard would go a long way to helping with that.

Not that I’ve seen. I think I’ve seen someone ask about it before but it’s such a rare occasion.

A long while back, someone posted about a wooden Les Paul style pickguard that was made by the PTC.

However, to the OP, I’d mention that it’s not difficult to control one’s picking stroke and not scratch the guitar; in fact, learning to control the pick and keep it over the strings makes for faster playing, because the pick doesn’t have to travel as far.

The exaggerated arm movements that we see with some players are strictly for show.

They don’t even get scuffed up that badly if you’re wearing wrist guards with nails embedded in them.

Enter picture of Casper, the most worn PRS out there...

casper309.jpg

A long while back, someone posted about a wooden Les Paul style pickguard that was made by the PTC.

However, to the OP, I’d mention that it’s not difficult to control one’s picking stroke and not scratch the guitar; in fact, learning to control the pick and keep it over the strings makes for faster playing, because the pick doesn’t have to travel as far.

The exaggerated arm movements that we see with some players are strictly for show.

THIS!