NGD: PRS SE 594 Singlecut Standard.. Uggg..

S2C22

Well, I bought an SE 594 Singlecut Standard in Cherry and got it Friday.. It is boxed up, awaiting a return label. Big mistake.. Now, before I get flamed, I'd like to note that I've been setting up my own guitars for 20 years, as well as every one else's I know. PRS Cores, S2's, many Gibsons, ESP's, Jacksons, Floyd Roses, you name it.

First off, fit and finish was ok. It looked nice, felt cheap. Then, there's a host of issues..

First off, the tool marks, gouges, and glue were proudly on display. Absolutely dreadful, and unacceptable. But, could be cleaned up, to an extent, and overlooked if it were a great player. Unfortunately, this was not the case...

Next, the nut.. Both B & high E strings choked out, never rang true, so not a set-up issue, clearly a nut issue. And, the issue turned out to be one I couldn't address, without a new nut because the nut height at the first fret was way low.

G & B string saddles were at their max from the factory, and intonation was STILL significantly sharp, (using a Peterson Strobe HD). This was still the case after I spent 2 hours doing a setup. Typically, a setup takes much less time on a decent guitar, but this one was SO out of even minimum PRS specs, it wasn't funny. Action was well over 2mm at the 12th, both treble and bass side, and relief was over .012.. Now, I typically get a Core or S2 as low as .005, but find around .007 the sweet spot. This guitar wasn't having it. I also go for around 1.4mm on the bass side at the 12th, and 1.2 on the treble. Again, not achievable on this one. Constant back and forth battle between truss rod, and action, neither of which would land in a spot that was comfortable.