NGD: Paul Allender with EMGs

shinksma

What? I get a title?
It's been a while since I posted a NGD thread, and this one isn't all that new-to-me any more - it actually arrived in early-November, but life and stuff got in the way, and frankly I didn't even pick it up all that much for more than a month. I just now took the photos.

It's a 2010 according to the Serial Number (Kxxxxx). Has the stock EMGs (which I've never tried before - that was part of the reason I wanted one of these models), and it appears to have an Ebony fretboard, even though that wasn't used until 2012 I believe on this model.

8XCgwHX.jpg

OomwdfB.jpg

The bats are very nicely done, as always.

oCn6ak8.jpg

It is in very good shape for the age, not mint, but not beat up either.

It came with a gig bag (surprised me, wasn't mentioned in the listing), but not a trem bar (not surprising). Trem bar was an easy procurement, of course, and now I have one of the "new" ones with the plastic tip.

It plays very smoothly, stays in tune, and the EMGs seem to sound fine to my ears - very "level EQ" is how I would characterize them, which to some folks means "sterile" I suppose.

That's Bat-tastic!!!

Sweet top!
That top is actually one of the best ones I've seen recently (at sub-$1K pricing). That helped me click "buy". It stays very symmetrical in all lighting - that isn't a trick of one particular angle combo of sun and camera. Some others have no-so-great book-matching.

It's good to finally land one of these. The second PRS I ever played in a store was a used (and mildly beat-up) Allender in a local GC. That same store had a very nice-looking new core CU24 (my target purchase), which is what I played first, but it was in Whale Blue (not the Emerald Green I "required"), and it was set-up very poorly - action was terrible! Because the Allender played so well I knew the Whale Blue CU24 was just a bad set-up.