New guy looking to go on a buying spree

Coach T.

Hey y’all! Greetings from the Deep South! New guy to the site and the world of PRS and am looking for a little knowledge. I picked up a 2015 S2 Satin Standard in a trade a few weeks ago and have been kicking myself for not getting on board years ago. I’ve been playing for 30+ years and have had everything under the sun...except a PRS. I’ve played a few over the years for a minute or two here and there but never really “got it”. I do now and am looking to stock my guitar cave with a few more. I’ve ordered the S2 McCarty already but saw a new Vela hanging on the wall at GC yesterday for $899 brand new. I plugged it in and intended to walk out of there with it but didn’t mesh with it in the same way I had with the S2. I did some research when I got home and saw that the neck profile on both were pattern regular. I freaking LOVE the neck carve on the Satin but the Vela certainly didn’t feel like the same shape, feeling a bit smaller and more narrow at the nut. Do you think it is different because of the 5 year gap in age or is it just me? The Vela neck felt more like one of my EBMM carves than the Satin? Anyone have any thoughts?

Welcome to the PRS rabbit hole,o there's a lot of bad influences around here. I have a '18 S2 Singlecut Satin and a '19 Vela Semi-Hollow, and like you I feel the Vela neck is narrower. I don't mind it as the guitar sounds great, but it does feel different.

As an enabler-in-training here, I welcome you to the best place I know of for information on all things PRS. Most of us also have a bunch of other guitars, but share the love of PRS here.

You’ll get lots of “this is the best ever PRS” opinions here, so I’ll throw mine in too. The best guitars PRS has ever made in my opinion both begin with the number 5. That would be the 513 and the 594. If you prefer a more pattern neck, the 513 (my all time fave), but you should also give a pattern vintage neck a go, the 594, my all time #2.