MT-15 with HX Effects (4cm) - can't get clean tone

ThemBones24

Hi,
I'm a newbie. I'm using an EVH Wolfgang double-humbucker guitar paired with MT-15 and HX Effects (4 cable method). My issue is I cannot get a clean tone without it sounding slightly distorted no matter which presets/effects I use. I've switched the amp to clean mode (blue light) which has had no effect. I'm starting to suspect it's something in global settings on the HX Effects. Kind of wondering if I need to bypass the HX Effects with a controller and concentrate clean tones with external pedals. I had no issues getting clean tone prior without HX Effects setup. Any advice? Thanks.

Pages 9-11, and 45

Try setting it to be in true bypass when everything off (should sound same as guitar straight into amp), and whether your guitar signal is line level or instrument level, hotter pickups at line level is like a boost engaged, its something like 6db I forget - used to have an hx effects

This guy has good info, and line6 forums are good.

Effects loops are notorious bringers of various evils. All of them operate at different levels, and level mismatches are the source of innumerable problems.

The first thing to do is isolate the problem.

Disconnect your effects loops and pedals, and go straight in to the amp. Do you have the distortion there? If not, it's somewhere else in your effects chain. I'd suspect that there's a level mismatch if that's the cause.

Professional recording gear operates at a different level from consumer gear (+4 dbu vs -10 dbV, and strangely enough even those are different measuring standards).

The guitar level is far lower.

Moreover, the input in the front of your amp has a different impedance than the effects loop in the back, owing to the different internal levels amps operate at.

These are all reasons I don't use effects loops. I hate effects loops!