PRS MT-15 Lead Channel Issues

phoztek

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to amp tubes and i've acquired a PRS MT-15 last week, but for some reason I think it has an issue and wanted to have you guy's opinion on this.
The clean channel works like a charm, I can get a pretty good sound out from it, but the lead channel is a whole different story. I've heard almost every video's out there, and I can't get anywhere near the tones I hear.
I know that most youtube and similar videos are post processed sounds but when listening to those videos where you have the mics from a camera or phone or any other capture devices not digitally processed, mine just doesn't sound alike.

I have the MT-15 connected to a 2x12 Harley Benton cab loaded with Celestion V30s, I have several types of guitars / pickups, some with more solid woods and others semi hollow, good cables, no ground issues.

The First thing I noticed, the lead channel doesn't get that saturation and seems that gain only adds muddiness to the sound, it doesn't feel tight at all. It feels like it's more like crunch than high gain distortion.
The bass knob, after 12 o'clock is non-existing, it's like it reaches its max at that position.
The overall lead sound has so much bass that In order to make it more or less ok, I have to reduce the bass to 9 o'clock.
I've tried the cab in different positions, heights and this doesn't seem to be the issue, it's still there. I've also tried two other cabs and got the same exact result.

I'm guessing that during the shipping, a valve might have got damaged somehow? Is this possible? To still have sound coming out but have a defective valve?
What do you guys suggest? Also would appreciate suggestions on what valves to replace and which ones are the better in your opinion ( i've heard people changing the 6L6's with EL34's and many others.

Thanks in advance!

Check the preamp tubes used in the gain channel first. Do you have "known good" replacement tubes you can roll in?