Confidence

BigChrisW

'68 Special
I've been a musician for as long as I can remember (I'm 54 now). Started on drums at six and took up the trombone at 7. Found the guitar after my sister received one for Christmas when I was about 14 ("whatever you do, don't let Chris get hold of it" - quote from my sister). I'm naturally quite musical and have a good ear for melody. I took to the guitar immediately and, aided by the passion of bands like The Alarm and Big Country, headed into a life of obsessive guitar playing. I've had some of my best experiences with a guitar in my hand and played some amazing gigs. I'm ok at it; good enough to entertain a pub full of drunken customers singing along to the songs my band (Milky Joe) chooses to play.

The thing is, and maybe I'm not alone, is my confidence takes a nose dive on a regular basis. Recording is a nightmare for me as I can't relax and let it flow; I'm the same in a gig if I know there are other guitar players in the audience. I'm terrible in a music shop... I sound like a beginner! Is this normal? I think it's basically imposter syndrome and it hits me hard in all walks of life. What a shame!

The purpose of this post is not to garner sympathy but to remind me that I should enjoy my guitar playing just because I'm alive and still able to enjoy it! It's too easy to overlook the fun that I have and the enjoyment I give to others through my guitar playing and singing. I'm fortunate that I own some lovely guitars and other related gear and I still get out to play regularly. Even if I didn't get out to play I can spend a happy hour or two simply noodling.

To hell with moments of doubt; I will enjoy my guitars and all that they bring!

(this post is sponsored by whisky)

Happens to me all the time!

I've been playing forever, but I'm trained on piano, and played it since 4. On piano, pure confidence. On guitar, pure 'OMG-I'm-Gonna-Screw-Up'!