Are you a gigging musician? What Guitar do you trust?

PRSWILL

I thought this would be an interesting question. Personally, I've been gigging and doing studio work since 1989 in Seattle, Minneapolis and Los angeles. While it's not my "job" now, it was and relying on an axe was super important to me. My "go to" guitar- like the house is burning, what are you taking- is my old PRS Custom 22 I got in 1997- Flame top in some sort of orange, Dragon PUPs, Wide thin neck ( and my Taylor 810 CE- another story) but that thing has been the ROCK SOLID foundation for great tone, solid intonation and keeps delivering gig after gig, and on a LOT of tracks out there. I have other guitars that are worth 3X + this guy, but when the house is coming down that's the guitar that comes with me. How about you guys?

My Johnny Hiland, my 509, my DC 3, my S2 custom 24, my Eg3, my SAS, my S2 Studio, my SE Hollowbody piezo........screw it, I’m going to die in a house fire if I don’t get all my guitars out.............. the Hiland is the first one out the door for a gig.

Last edited:
Well my modded Vela is my gigging guitar, does everything I need, it’s twin humbuckers with coil splits, and it rocks, best instrument I have ever played and my first PRS. I would grab that in one hand and one of the kids in the other......

Predominantly, it’s been Mr. Clean - THE DGT Standard. Number two has rotated between the RL Vela, CU24, SE245, Catalpa Cabronita, or Les Paul Deluxe. They’ve all seen tons of action and none of them have let me down. Well, except the Les Paul’s stereotypical intonation float...which took decades to tame.