Standard 24 nut replacement disaster

Discussion in 'PTC - PRS Tech Center' started by Seanalmet, Apr 3, 2020.

  1. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just tried to replace the stock nut on my Standard 24 with a Graphtec nut. After removing the old nut, it seems as though a fair amount of wood stuck to the old nut, now, neither the old nut or new nut will fit in the slot. I can put the old nut in and the guitar is playable. The nut will either sit flush with the fretboard edge or flush with the neck, but not both. Is this guitar ruined, or will a luthier be able to salvage it?
     
  2. jxe

    jxe babe en der wood

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    3,033
    wood filler + new nut.
     
  3. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for the info
     
  4. Lacire

    Lacire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    126
    The nut needs to sit flush with the fretboard edge for intonation. The guitar’s not ruined. If you don’t have the right tools or knowledge to change out the nut or make the repair then take it to a luthier and have them take a look at it. Cheer up it’s fixable.
     
    dogrocketp and Egads like this.
  5. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for the encouragement! Now if I can only find a luthier who's considered essential!
     
  6. Lacire

    Lacire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    126
    Can I ask what was wrong with the original nut?
     
  7. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    When I replaced the original strings, I put 10s on and it would not stay in tune.
     
  8. AP515

    AP515 Mostly Normal

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,412
    Likes Received:
    3,613
    I don't know if the Graphtec is the right size. When I replaced a nut on my PRS I ordered a McCarty nut and it was a direct drop in replacement. You might want to try that.
     
  9. Ovibos

    Ovibos Naughty Wood Librarian

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    2,973
    That’s because SEs are cut for 9’s. You could have filed the nut out a tiny bit.
     
    dogrocketp likes this.
  10. Lacire

    Lacire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    126
    So did you get it back together?
     
  11. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    No, unfortunately my local guitar shop is closed and I've already messed it up enough. After things start opening back up I will take it in and have it fixed.
     
  12. Lacire

    Lacire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    126
    Post back when you get it fixed and let us know how it went.
     
  13. pgj

    pgj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    148
    Been thinking about upgrading the nut on my Standard 24. Just wondering, if it is universally accepted that a high quality nut makes a world of difference with tone and tunability...why would PRS put inferior nuts on any of their guitars? I mean, they are usually less than $20 retail for the top of the line ones (probably a fraction of that to the manufacturer). Why not just put the best nut available on all models?
     
  14. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Knew the nut was cut for 9's. I didn't want to spend the money for a tool I would probably only use once, and the new nut was only $11. It did say it was a direct replacement for the Standard 24. Not exactly truthful
     
  15. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sure thing
     
  16. Ovibos

    Ovibos Naughty Wood Librarian

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    2,973
    You can use a string as a file to widen the slot.
     
  17. Seanalmet

    Seanalmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    I wish I had known that sooner. Could have saved myself a whole lot of trouble
     
    Glide-bpm likes this.
  18. Iceman101

    Iceman101 There's always room for one more.....

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1,025
    The core nut is a direct drop in. If you ream well, the old one pops out with one or two taps easy. A little wood glue and you're set. Did this on 9 SE's, no sweat and I'm no handyman.
     
    Eddie kim, Alnus Rubra and bodia like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice