Special semi-hollow 22 pickup orentation

ssmug

I recently picked up a SSH, and see that PRS orients the pickups so that both HB have the screw pole pieces facing the bridge. Traditionally, the neck PU has the screws facing the neck (as on my HB I and CE-22, and the majority of guitars, it seems).

From what I've read, when the PU is split, it's the slug portion that stays active -- is that correct? In that sense, when it's in full HB mode, it seems like it wouldn't matter which way the screws are facing, yes?

What was the rationale for PRS to choose this setup?

Disclaimer: I’m not a pickup expert, but I have researched pickup design and wiring of the SE SAS because of rewiring the guitar, changing pickups, and installing a Freeway 6 position switch. Some of the following may not be totally accurate, please correct me as necessary.

The clockwise vs counterclockwise wrap direction and wind starting at the bobbin top/bottom affect thenphase output of the pickup. The magnet placement north/south polarity orientation of screw/non-screw pole pieces to the magnet(s) affects phase of the pickup also. These differences are selected by the builder of the pickup and appear to me to vary across pickup manufacturers, I have not found a standard yet. Rotating a pickup from the way it was installed will reverse the phase of the pickup. Swapping the output wires of a pickup also swap the phase. This will change the guitar tone when pickups are on at the same time from how they sounded before the rotation. If both pickups have matching polarity towards the neck the output phase will be additive. Pickups having opposite polarity/phase will subtract and create a softer tone with a more significant effect on the tone.