Getting close to VELA Semi Purchase

slyfox

I like everything about the Vela Semi. Wanted to clarify a couple of things:

1. If the neck pick-up is a single coil, will it hum and buzz like any other single coil Strat type pick-up? If so are there some good aftermarket hum free alternatives? Seems it is a mini humbucker size or DeArmond style...which I never really knew anything about until I started learning about the Vela. I intend to play with a lot of gain for a singing lead tone so neck pick-up hum is a concern.

2. How does one set the radius for height adjustments on that bridge? Seems with 4 screws total you kind of set the middle ones a little higher and the outside ones a little lower...probably not much to it other than that is there?

3. Do those height adjustment screws on the bridge screw into anything or do they just sit on top of that plate like a Strat style saddle adjustment screw?

I'd have to pull mine out - haven't played it in a bit - but I don't remember any unusual buzzing from the neck pickup.

I've never had to touch the radius on the bridge, but I can look at it. Pretty sure the adjustment screws sit on top of the plate. All my other PRSi are like that, so I don't see why this would be different.

Had to run down to get the mail, so I took that as a chance to spend a quick five minutes w/the Vela - semi-hollow, reclaimed wood series, just FYI. Same electronics and body style you'd be dealing with.

The height adjustment screws do sit on top of the plate. Two screws for each half of the bridge, and they're adjusted just like you'd think - high in the middle, low on the ends. Like Ohio if it was Lowhilow. Think /\, but much less exaggerated.