Sorry for a long and downer first post

MPH426

A little background. I have a '17 McCarty 594 and absolutely love it. I'm in my '60s and have developed some shoulder problems so I don't play it often. However, there are times when I do, that it sounds so amazing that I forget about my shoulders!! Heck, I pretty much forget about everything except the sound! It is the guitar that got me hooked on PRS.

I have been searching for lighter weight guitars. I found an SE Paul's guitar at the local GC. The action was about a 1/4" off the frets. That didn't bother me 'cause it had gone from near zero temp to the mid 50's within a few days. That and I've been setting up my own guitars for over 30 years. I got it setup and It sounded much better and played pretty good. I was playing the melody line for Melisa (Allman Bros.) when I noticed the the notes on the high E on the 12th thru 15th fret were dying out within a few seconds! I started playing around, most of the neck would sustain for a very long time. Then... I did a little blues lick on the high E at the 5th fret. I accidentally over bent on the way back and the string literally got caught under the frets off the bottom of the fret board!

I took it back and asked to get another as I really do like the tones. They were very helpful an had one shipped from the their distribution center. Short story long... I got it yesterday. Again the action was a bit high but the neck looked good. I lowered the bridge and things looked better. The action is still a bit high for what "I think" a PRS should be, but not bad.

Now for the downer part. This too has neck issues. In parts of the neck there isn't as much sustain as others. It is better than the first, but not what a 1K guitar (IMHO) should play like. It's definitely going back and I'll have to look for something else.

Has anyone else had issues like this, or is it just me?!?!?