SE Paul's or SE Custom 24-08?

PRS SE Paul's Guitar or PRS SE Custom 24-08?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

kongk

Hi there,

After learning how to play acoustic 35 years ago, and been noodling very occasionally on/off since, and COVID-19 came. So, I spent home time learning to play electrics. I went out and bought an SSH Squier Bullet. Soon, I bought a Gibson Les Paul Classic Custom Light. I know my skills really don't justify a $1900 guitar, but I indulged a bit. I just learned about PRS from my musician friend, and, as an engineer, I found myself intrigued by TCI pickups and PRS headstock design.

The models that interest me are SE Paul's or the new SE Custom 24-08. From the demos, I like the TCI switches. There are a couple of differences between SE Paul's and SE Custom 24-08 that makes choosing one a dilemma for me. I only have a budget for one. I'd like to ask for some opinion here, and would appreciate comments and feedbacks.

My electric skill level is still basic (comfortable with Fender Play Level 2, but haven't started level 3 yet). Here are the differences that I'd like to ask for comments on:

1. Fixed bridge on SE Paul's vs Tremolo bridge on SE24-08: I've never used a trem. I don't have a trem arm for my Squier. I know heavy use can detune the strings, and tuning stability is fairly important to me. So, is there a downside for having a trem and not using it? Having one gives me an option to use it later. Also, Paul's SE can be intonated by only 2 screws to laterally move the bridge on low E and high E, and strings can't be intonated individually. Is that a big deal? Would the floating trem bridge kill tuning stability?