S2 Acoustics---will we see them?

tonyvenn

Hi all....

The release of the Alex Lifeson acoustic got me to thinking...

Will we see a Maryland-made mid-line acoustic??

Here's my "issue"...

The PRS acoustics are amazing...but just way too expensive for my ability. I'm not a pro player, and Private Stock is out of the question. Even a used PRS acoustic is still around 4000...

The SE acoustics are nice, but the glossy finish just looks amatuerish to me.

I would have no problem spending 2000 to 2500 on an acoustic that would be that proverbial "last guitar you'll ever buy".

Is there anyone else hoping for another PRS acoustic at a "middle" price point?

Opinions welcome!

Tony

I think you'd be more likely to see a core acoustic with stripped down features than an S2 because they literally had to build and buy machinery to create this new line of guitars. It was a huge undertaking so I'm not sure they'd go through that for a new acoustic model. Just a guess.

I would doubt it. It seems that acoustics are still a secondary (although that's changing quickly) instrument to the electrics. Furthermore, is it really needed? How much you can get by with a lot of things in electrics that you can't in acoustic and WMS is building amazing instruments for a lower price point because of their labor cost there. There's usually a huge difference between as $500 dollar and $5000 but $500 and $1500 is almost non existant. Look at fender MIM and Am. Std. guitars compared to MIM and CS.

I am noticing that there is no longer a Maryland-made PRS acoustic that isn't a Private Stock or Artist Package. That leaves an enormous gap between the SE Angelus and the Maryland-made acoustics.

Funny timing, I only made this comment today, that a S2 acoustic would be great, just strip it back, no fancy stuff, use non-exotic woods etc