PRS Amps - Durability

iR4lf

Hi guys,

I definitely decided to go with my PRS Archon as my main amp...I have been a Mesa Boogie user for years, sadly many of my Mesa amps had failures with the master pots (I owned 4 Rectifiers and on all of them the master pots (on two amps the clean master and on two channel II or III) died after 2-3 years and I really took care of the amps). This is not something I was expecting from Mesa amps. So since I have no experience with PRS amps, could you share your opinions on durability of PRS amps or the Archon? Thanks...

Two years on one I got new, and still in the first year on the other but I found it used so it has had some work time for at least 3 years. No problems with them so far, but I have two Mesa's and they still work fine too. Maybe I don't turn the knobs as much as you do...

My PRSes have been fine for one year and two years, respectively, but then my Mesas were perfect for 14-15 years, too.

My SE amp has been going strong for 3 years. Haven't even had a tube crap out... but I should probably replace those pt's, now that I think about it!

I've gigged my PRS amp for 3 years with perfect results. Love my Boogie, too, and I gigged it exclusively for 24 years before replacing it with the Super Dallas. IMO, boogies and PRS amps are complimentary.

IMO, boogies and PRS amps are complimentary.

I agree, they're both great amp makers, and they do different things.

The amps I've bonded with most strongly have been made by PRS, Mesa, Two-Rock, and Bad Cat. That's some pretty good company!

The amps I've bonded with most strongly have been made by PRS, Mesa, Two-Rock, and Bad Cat. That's some pretty good company!

For me it's PRS, Mesa, and Fender. Never tried a Two-Rock but I hear they're great. I haven't fallen in love with the Bad Cats but coming from a Fender guy it makes sense.

Interesting how some have trodden the same path