Projects

Davey

Just Jammin'
Not so long ago, Hans started a thread "Covid-19 projects"

Here's one of them that I have been tinkering with off and on for a couple months.
A custom pedal board.
I don't play in a band any longer so it wasn't in the plans to make this mobile or small as my pedal collection has vastly increased this past year or 2 to about a 1/4 acre.

Started with a sketch and some leftover scraps of hemlock.
Got everything cut and in a rough finished configuration.
50710895213_b7e51ea34c_b.jpg

Then glued and fastened it together and got it stained.
50711677996_5fa2cdd1f2_b.jpg

This was a couple months back after I had thrown on some velcro, pedals and added the patch cables and wired it up.
50710906033_131b3c555e_b.jpg

Well after playing for a few months, I decided that I should probably get back at it and clean up the rats nest of cables and wires and get rid of the daisy chain power supplies and install some better quality power.

So I picked a couple 1 spot power supplies (a CS7 and a CS12). Needed both to run my acreage of pedals. My MXR EQ needs 18v, while the 80's boss pedals need 12v and the remainder are 9v.
50710884303_ba76c68d4b_b.jpg

The mounting brackets that come with them are for pedaltrain boards, but they mounted up pretty easily.
50711704522_b5f908d880_b.jpg

Starting to place pedals and determine cable routing and mounting.
50711619631_626038b1e2_b.jpg

All pedals mounted/velcro to board and nearly all patch cables installed. Still some finish routing and tidying up to do.
50711706552_d702765e41_b.jpg

I want to add a 4 jack patch to make it easier to connect/disconnect to any amp. So I have one of these on the way.
50711069318_6e3a3d7491_z.jpg

Once I get that mounted, then I can finish routing and mounting the patch cables and then I can run the power supply wiring to each pedal and get that all clean and tidy.

I'll add those pics when I get that completed.

That looks great! You've done a beautiful job with it so far.