Please Help a Confused and Overwhelmed Newb

Jetty

I have played acoustic guitar, badly, for maybe 15 years, though I have no musical background beyond that. My love affair with The Dead/D&C, etc has led me to purchase an electric, and when I saw JM playing “Honey” in Boulder in June, I decided I had to own a PRS. So….I began researching and have reached a serious state of confusion and indecision, and I’m hoping y’all can help a brother out.

Budget: SE or, maybe, a used S2
Sound: I just don’t have the ear for it, or the vocabulary, to describe what I like. I know I love “Honey.”

Here are the options I’ve identified:

1) SE SS: seems like a versatile instrument for the kind of music I love. I wish it came in sunburst, though. (It shouldn’t matter, but it kind of does). I played one at a shop and it felt nice.

2) SE Cu22 SH: I mean, it kinda LOOKS like a SE, right? But, for real, does it have the sound I’ll want? (Nobody near me has one in stock)

3) s2 McCarty 594. Again, it LOOKS like a guitar I know I love, but i don’t know much about how it will sound stock. How much of “Honey’s” sound is due to the middle PU mod, etc? This is a much bigger $ investment, but I can handle it if I must.

4) almost forgot: Cu24, since it seems like it kind of does everything, and because I played one and kind of wanted to curl up in bed with it.

I need your help because I don’t have the ear or experience at this point to really understand how the rest of the differences in these models (and others in the PRS line) will affect my playing and listening experience.

If y’all could make this simpler for me so I can get some sleep, it’d be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!