NGD and New Member Intro

RavensDave

Hi All,

This forum has consumed many hours of mine in the last couple of months or so and I didn't think I'd be making my first post quite so soon.

I'm from Maryland but live in Charlotte now. I started playing guitar in MD when I was about 13 years old. After messing around on my Mom's 1975 Epiphone FT-120 acoustic, I got a Fender MIM Strat. I took lessons for a few years and a couple of buddies and I used to jam. We played a couple of school talent shows and even got a gig playing our middle school dance (sounds lame but was the coolest thing in the world at the time!). I remember being in the guitar store in Annapolis and seeing nice PRS guitars hung high on the wall. This was pre-SE line, so they were just something cool to look at for me (and dream "one day"). The shop carried a good selection of them, if I remember correctly, and that was in 1996. I also remember reading Guitar World and seeing PRS ads with Santana in them.

As the years went on, my playing fizzled out. It wasn't that I didn't love guitar or music anymore, just that I was heading off to college and actually was surrounded by a fantastic group of friends, just none of them musicians. Plus, I was focused on partying and chasing women and eventually stopped bringing the guitar with me when I came back. A Sam Ash employee recently informed me that these two things actually align perfectly with playing rock and roll - who knew?