Modding question about the bridge on the PRS Store.

darkscience

Hello everyone,

A quick intro, I am new to guitar playing, I have been playing for about 3 months on a First Act Acoustic guitar from Wal-mart. I am in love with the hobby and play every day for about 1 hour. I wanted to upgrade my guitar and had the financial means to go about $1k on the guitar. Without doing any homework I went to my local GC and played around on different guitars. I narrowed my choice down to a LP Studio and the S2 CU24 that I walked out with. The S2 was on clearance for $1.1K, and it sounded really nice to my ears and the neck felt terrific to me. Unfortunatley I am having a bit of buyers remorse after reading some reviews, most of them stating it is an overpriced guitar, and that the SE is a better choice. This purchase was made this past weekend. I do have the option to return it, but IDK, I might be one of those people who are never completely satisfied so I have decided to instead, begin modding and doing upgrades, unless someone convinces me to switch.

My modding intentions is as follows: PRS S2 Custom 24 - Antique White
-Black out all the hardware (Tuners, screws, strap holders etc ), How do you think I could go about blacking out the bridge? The store only sells nickel and gold. Are those on the store the american models? What is the difference between the ones on the store and my guitar?
-Switch pick-ups, ( I like active pickups ) Would active pickups work? Do I need to do soldering and rewiring? Or is this plug and play other then height adjustments?
-Possible add a pickgaurd, do they even make one for the custom?

Thanks!
-Geyzer

Hi and welcome to the forum! I'm not an expert by any means, but here's my $0.02 First, don't let what others say dictate what you like. An S2 is a great guitar, I'm sure, but I've never played one. I have an SE, too, and it's ok, but I'm sure the S2 is better.