Guitar Player's Brains Are Different

I wonder if that isn't true for musicians who play other instruments, too, provided that the player has developed sufficient mastery of an instrument to be able to play it intuitively and experience that shift from conscious to unconscious thought? I know lots of players of other instruments who experience that shift when they're playing.

It happens to me when playing piano, almost never on guitar.

I think its because my neural network incorporated keys early in life (I was 4 when I started playing keys). I know an awful lot of horn players and fiddle players who will tell you the same thing about "letting go" when playing. They've developed their neural pathways on their own instruments from childhood in most cases.

So I think that the ability to shift from conscious to unconscious is as highly developed for any good musician on any instrument as it is for guitar players.

For me, that shift from conscious to unconscious rarely happens on guitar, despite the fact that I've been playing the instrument since about 1967, and I play decently enough to get by in most situations. But I can "let go" on keys any time. Guitar players aren't really different from other musicians. They just have more tattoos. ;)

I wonder if that isn't true for musicians who play other instruments, too, provided that the player has developed sufficient mastery of an instrument to be able to play it intuitively and experience that shift from conscious to unconscious thought? I know lots of players of other instruments who experience that shift when they're playing.

I think its because my neural network incorporated keys early in life (I was 4 when I started playing keys). I know an awful lot of horn players and fiddle players who will tell you the same thing about "letting go" when playing. They've developed their neural pathways on their own instruments from childhood in most cases.