Crackwood De-Flowering

CantankerousCarl

Occasionally Onery Member
I have been flirting with a rosewood neck off and on for a few months now, and when a local retailer got in one of the 408 Brazilians, and I played it, I was done.

By virtue of a recent sale, and a massive personal inventory reduction, I was able to loose my own personal crackwood virginity, at 43.

All I have to say is "HOLY S***!" Loudly. Over and over. I can't stop playing it. I can't stop smelling it. I feel like a freak. You can read all about it on the intry-net, but you must experience it.

It's a wonderful complement to the Siggy, and the rest of my lineup. This one definitely goes into the "you'll have to pry it out of my cold, dead hands" category.

FWIW I was not previously a huge Black Gold fan, but this wrap changed my mind - it's lighter and more colorful than others I have seen - against a current BG C24 in the same store it's tobacco-like, almost reddish. I love it. Apologies for the fingerprints, and I don't have a good full-length shot yet:

057_zps488fa8c0.jpg

056_zpsc37874ca.jpg

063_zps57586e23.jpg

The stuff I got over here, well it's a PS dog's breakfast. When in doubt I whip it out, the 408 Braz guitar is da bomb!!

Gorgeous guitar, Carl! I must disagree with you though. I think Black Gold is the best production finish PRS has come up with in years. Enjoy!

Thanks guys. Just spent an hour or so A-B'ing this with the Siggy...these are absolutely amazing sounding, I would be hard-pressed to choose one over the other.

I think a lot of the posts on this forum have given about as accurate description of the differences between mahogany vs rosewood necks as can be written. The 408 Brazilian indeed has a low-mid emphasis vs the Siggy, with a little more roundness. The Siggy cuts a little more, slightly angrier.