Concert Ticket Prices

Goldtop

A Top (and Heart) of Gold
How much is too much to pay for a live show? Everybody probably has a limit; what's yours?

Also, have you ever done the 'Diamond Package' thing where you pay through the nose to attend a meet and greet with a band? Would you ever buy one, and if so, for which act?

There is a limit to how much I would pay these days, for the simple fact that I'm on a fixed income and it only goes so far. But even if that wasn't the case, I'm only willing to spend so much to attend a show. And I've never bought my way into a meet and greet, and I never would. There's just something fundamentally wrong about that whole idea to me.

Lloyd/Goldtop/QoC

Last edited:
Obviously it depends on a lot of factors - who's playing, budget, which seats, etc. I think for me the limit would be around $200 for an artist I REALLY like, decent seats at a good venue. Then again I'm a broke student, so take with a grain of salt. I was ready to pay a pretty good price if necessary to see Derek Trucks in Boston last month, but couldn't find anyone to go with me. Which really sucked. I guess the rest of the people my age were too busy listening to Coldplay and crying or whatever it is people do when they listen to Coldplay.
I'll tell you who I'd really like to be is the guy making all the profit from Ticketmaster. I bought 2 tickets to a show next month for $30 apiece, and the service fee was almost $10 per ticket, which is bogus IMO. I get that Ticketmaster has to make money somehow, but ripping me for $20 bucks when I ordered on their website and it took literally no effort on their part is tough to swallow. Maybe they have a good reason, if so I'd sure like to know what it is.

My first arena concert cost $7.50 in 1979 and I spent $125 a piece to take my boys to see Van Halen's reunion tour a few years ago. Times are certainly different.