checking out more guitars?

merciful-evans

Portsmouth uk
I've been putting off visiting my favourite guitar shop for a couple of months. They have 4 guitars I would love to try.

I have little capacity for any more, and maintaining any more would be a chore. So, something would have to go. I've identified 2 guitars that I would part with.

Last time I did this I returned with the guitar I took along. It was better than everything new I looked at.

Anyway, shortly I will be checking what part-ex they will accept for the 2 guitars against the more likely of the 'new' ones.

Am I alone in setting a one in/one out policy here? It seems like everyone else just collects on an ongoing basis.

Am I alone in setting a one in/one out policy here? It seems like everyone else just collects on an ongoing basis.

I am not at that point myself yet. Family life and kids caused me to give-up playing all but my Acoustic and even had to sell off my electric for financial reasons. After Divorce and my children becoming adults, I have been able to build up my guitars again but as I live in a small apartment, literally just 2 rooms (apart from a small kitchen and bathroom but you wouldn't keep guitars in those), I am at or extremely close to capacity.

All my guitars though are different and offer me something unique. I can't see me wanting to get rid of one because I bought it for its unique options it offers me. It seems silly to trade in my 594 for a 594 just so I don't lose what my 594 offers. None of my guitars are not up to the quality that I can justify trading 'up' - like selling an SE to upgrade for a Core version.