Am I crazy?

Teletex

As some of you may remember I got my very first Core PRS recently, a very special Special Semi-Hollow. I have been a Fender guy since I started playing, but I have been so taken with this guitar that my number one of 7 years, a 52 RI telecaster, has been gathering dust. To the point where I have been thinking what if?

What if I sold all my Fenders to buy another PRS? Am I just suffering from Honey Moon-itis? Did any of you all sell off your non PRS stable to find more PRSi? If so, any regrets?

Last edited:
Nope. Like many others, you're searching for what you like, and would like to make your own. Because your music tastes change over time, you may feel your choice of guitars needs to change as well. Consider what @Boogie said above and realize that often your music tastes may change occasionally, but come 'round again later.

Like @Boogie, I'd agree that nothing can substitute for a good Tele because of its own characteristics, both from the esthetic and playability POV.

And , like @Boogie, I'd say that once you sell the 52 RI, you'd be hard-pressed asking yourself later on why you ever did such a thing.

It's fairly simple: Look yourself square in the mirror this evening, and ask yourself: "Would I ever regret selling my 52 RI of 7 years later on?" Then, turn in for the night and sleep on it. The answer will be clearer in the morning. (Try it. My father used to do this whenever he had a pressing concern and needed an answer. Overnight, he sorted it out in his sleep and awoke knowing what to do.)

I’m not saying you should sell your Tele...but! I will say that after I got my first US made PRS, I realized it was the company for me, and I sold my two Les Pauls to get more PRS’. And then I sold other things to get more PRS’. The only thing I didn’t sell is my first guitar, a Strat, simply for sentimental reasons. So, I don’t think it’s completely crazy. :)