Advice Needed: New S2 or Used Studio or ?

buddysunshine

Hey thanks in advance for any advice here. Have had a hard time finding guitars to demo and looking like I will just buy online. New experience 2021.

I owned an original PRS from 1985. Loved it. Wore it out and traded it years ago.

Im looking for a new guitar that can get both LP and Fender sounds. PRS is in my sights but man, so many options today.

Im thinking S2 New or maybe sleuthing out a deal on a used core or studio.

The studio model from 2011 looks like a good fit for me. Can anyone attests to the build quality compared to a new S2?

I also like the McCarty 594. How would the S2 594 compare to the 2011 Studio?

Im trying NOT to go hog wild here and spend 5K on a new guitar right now. Im a professional working in the NY area and this last year has been so challenging.

I will use new guitar in the studio and live. Im looking for the versatility to allow me to bring just one guitar to gigs and sessions etc.

Thanks

I'd go with the 2011 core studio. It's a really great one! S2 has always left me trying to swap pickups and electronics, then I'd go all these lengths just to end up selling or trading in the end. If a used core is an option, I'd always choose the used core every day and twice on mondays.

You can't go wrong either way, I would recommend choosing based on the features that you want.