Advice for Potentially Purchasing PRS?

tlandonevans

Howdy,

I'm in the market for an electric guitar. I have been playing guitar (acoustic) for about four years. I'm the frontman in a five piece country band. I just play rhythm acoustic, but I've been wanting to get an electric for a while now to play at home and potentially add some flavor to our live shows. Common wisdom would tell me to get a Telecaster. However, we already use two telecasters in our band (we have a lot of diversity though. In addition to drums and bass, the three other musicians combine to play electric guitar, acoustic guitar, steel guitar, mandolin, banjo, accordion, and keyboard) and I feel like a third might just be overkill.

When we recorded our demo, our guitar player used a PRS SC245 that had some twang, but also had some crunch that sounded really cool. Also, one of my favorite guitar tones in country music is that of Roger Ray, the former guitar/steel player for Jason Boland & The Stragglers. I know he used a PRS (Don't know what model) for a lot of his stuff, I'll include a video link at the bottom. I'm thinking that I could probably find a PRS that will still sound good playing country licks, but that will have a different flare than a Tele. I've done some reading by just googling "PRS country music" and found some results, which is actually what lead me here. People were suggesting the Brent Mason signature. Problem is, I'm a college student, and can't really afford to drop $2K on a guitar when it's not even going to be my primary instrument.