594 Locking Tuners

chrisg_sdcf

I've been reading through posts for the last few days and it looks like PRS Vintage locking tuners and the phase 3 locking tuners both fit the S2 594 McCarty. I know that if I switch to phase 3 tuners I will see an imprint of the vintage tuners in the nitro finish. For that reason I'm leaning towards leaving mine the way it is or swapping in vintage locking tuners.

My question is, do the phase 3 tuners work better? Or feel better? Or does it mostly come down to what you think looks best? (Ive only owned the S2 594 McCarty double cut so I have no experience with other PRS tuners).

33-F13251-808-D-4265-A216-DBCFFD9855-D1.jpg

I have locking kluson style on my McCarty.

They work well and I like them. Got them from John Mann.

Honestly, I have phase 1, 2, 3 and vintage lockers. They all work great and I really don't have a preference

No.. those are stock SE screws, probably wouldn’t hurt to use slightly longer screws but the tuners seem very solid and I wanted to be able to change back to stock without any problems.

these are the plates.. LP version

Charles
Thank you. Looks great

Are you asking about Phase III(modern) vs Phase III(vintage)?

No. There were also Phase III "Tweaked". The collar on the tweaked knob is locked in place with a set screw from the side and doesn't compress the worm gear.

With the regular phase III tuners, the collar was held on by the knob screw and compressed the worm gear.

The tuners in your picture have a set screw so I assumed they were the Tweaked phase III knobs. I was just wondering if they were really better than the regular (non vintage) phase III knobs and if you/others preferred the tweaked or non tweaked phase III's.

No. There were also Phase III "Tweaked". The collar on the tweaked knob is locked in place with a set screw from the side and doesn't compress the worm gear.

With the regular phase III tuners, the collar was held on by the knob screw and compressed the worm gear.