PRS Paul's Guitar SE nut replacement question.

Bryce Dukes

I have recently purchased the aforementioned guitar and I absolutely love it. I have noticed a few issues with it holding tuning and have decided to replace the nut with a Tusq XL and upgrade the tuners to locking. My tech reached out to me and asked if I was sure about the nut replacement as he suggested the current nut that came with the guitar was a synthetic bone with bronze blend and would be superior for tone. This contrasts all of the research I had previously done on this, which has stated the TUSQ is superior for both tone and tuning stability. Thoughts?

I’m pretty new to PRS and have not really researched or compared TUSQ vs PRS nut characteristics so please take this with a grain of salt. That said, with other guitars (Strats) I have done this incrementally. I just replaced the tuners first (no drilling or tech was required for this so it saved me $$$), take a couple months to assess and then if it still wasn’t right went after the nut.

I’m fairly sure that the nut in my SE and core guitars are the same, it’s just that the nut on the core is cut much better.

I would be inclined to check that the nut slots are cut appropriately for the gauge of string, plus you could try lubing the nut slots with graphite (from a pencil) or even actual nut lube if you’ve got some, before going for a replacement.

The Core nuts are made from some type of unobtanium compound. I believe they are also self lubricating. The SE nuts have always been the weak link with respect to tuning stability on the SE models. A lot of guys end up replacing them with the Core nuts.

In comparing the weight and size and sound of the composite nut I got from PRS accessory store and the one that came from the factory on my SE PG they are exactly the same.

Slots on the factory installed nut were badly cut, as another said. Seem to be exactly the same in every other respect.