PRS Newbie needs advice - SE 24 vs. CE 24 vs. Custom 24

greatrankini

I think I already know my answer, but any advice appreciated. I plan on buying my first PRS this year. I am not a professional touring musician - just play for fun and still very much learning. I'm torn on which PRS to buy and here are my options:

1. Buy a new SE 24 now.
2. Buy a new CE 24 now.
3. Save up and buy a used Custom 24 in 9-12 months.

The S2 is not an option b/c I want a thin neck.

I'm torn because I wonder if I'm buying too much guitar (for my skills and needs) with a Custom 24. Perhaps an SE 24 or CE 24 is good enough for me and still wonderful. I'm also wondering if I'm prejudiced against the SE 24 because it's not made in the Maryland factory. How much does that matter? I sometimes lean toward the saving up for the Custom 24 because I'm thinking this is a guitar I'll keep forever, so get the best - but maybe the best isn't necessary for me and I'll be super happy with the less-expensive options?

Again, thank you for any input!

First things first, play them all if you haven't. Second, I always tell people this, look at the specs of the guitars and see what you want. Keep in mind the CE and SE both have maple necks, the Custom 24 is mahogany, so it won't be as bright sounding as the former 2.

Give an S2 a try as well, just to feel the neck profile. It's a different shape than most other PRS profiles, not as thin front to back as the wide/thin or pattern thin, but also narrower across, so it still feels smaller, just in a different way.

There is no such thing as buying too much for your skill/need. Buy the best you can afford - best being dictated by things you notice with it in your hands. You will play more, enjoy it more and in doing so get value out of it. And probably become a better player.