Prs custom 20 tube replacement and a problem I had with mine

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by Vexed73, Dec 16, 2017.

  1. Vexed73

    Vexed73 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    22
    [​IMG]

    Just wondering where new tubes should be biased at and what brands do people like? Bought a demo model from sweetwater and it did not come with the manual.

    Also had a problem the lead channel would not work and boost function did not work. Light would come on when switching channels but no sound and clean was perfect. Tried different preamp tubes and could hear a faint sound and static while turning knobs.

    After a while I realised that mashing on top of cabinet it would cut in. So screwed in the chassis bolts as they were loose! Thought it was working but nope. Scratched head and loosened a bit and found the chasis bolt closest to lead channel if touched with screw driver or finger the channel would work.

    Took chasis out and everything looked beautiful! Looked at cabinet and part of the foil tape was bent over so layed the tape flat with a finger and bolted it back in and everything works fine.

    I am guessing that ground/sheilding was necessary to completely switch into the lead channel. The boist also worked after that. Anyone have an idea about that?
    Debating whether I should keep it as I paid too much if it is going to be troublesome. Played it loud and for 2 hours after fixing so probably be fine. Either way love to hear your opinions.
     
    #1 Vexed73, Dec 16, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2017
  2. toothace

    toothace At least I'm good at dentistry

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,544
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    Tube guru Les to the podium please...Tube guru Les to the podium...
     
  3. Dusty Chalk

    Dusty Chalk alberngruppenführer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Sounds like you fixed it. It also sounds like there was a short -- it may not have been at the tape, you may have fixed it just by taking it out of the chassis and putting it back in. Or perhaps a tube was not seated properly. This often happens during shipping.

    Regarding biasing, I would email or call customer service. There's probably not much you need besides the bias and how to bias, and ...was there a footswitch? Is there a place for a footswitch? Most Sewell designs are biased around 30, but I would still ask customer service first.

    Regarding tubes, I would ask customer service as well. And then use only those.
     
    Boogie, bodia and Vexed73 like this.
  4. Vexed73

    Vexed73 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yeah it came with original packing and footswitch just not the owners manual or hang things. Really weird how touching the screw made it work and a bit scary. Lol
     
  5. bodia

    bodia Authorities said.....best leave it.....unsolved

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8,254
    Likes Received:
    5,954
    Dusty is right about the bias. The PRS amps that I have/had have all been 30. Still, I would email customer service to make sure. Also wouldn't hurt to mention your issue in that email. Although, it sounds like you have corrected it. Crank it loud, and enjoy!
     
    Vexed73 likes this.
  6. Vexed73

    Vexed73 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    22
    Everything is working but seems a little too loud to be "right" are your amps this loud on gain channel with nothing plugged in? Theres a crackle in there but dont think it was picked up in video.
     
  7. Dusty Chalk

    Dusty Chalk alberngruppenführer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Yeah, that don't sound right.
     
  8. LSchefman

    LSchefman Hears Tones

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18,020
    Likes Received:
    4,985
    I only know how to play ‘em, put new tubes in, and bias the tubes.

    Beyond that, I got nothin’.
     
  9. DreamTheaterRules

    DreamTheaterRules Archon owning member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Unless your wife is running the vacuum cleaner in the hallway right outside your music room, you've got a problem. Les is right though, don't ship it back without checking the tubes. They can test great at the factory, get bounced a couple times in shipping and fail. Check the tubes with the usual "one at a time with a known good tube" swap method.
     
  10. Vexed73

    Vexed73 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yeah checked tubes and sent back. Be a while til they get another in stock though. Nice tone in this amp might get another eventually.
     
  11. DreamTheaterRules

    DreamTheaterRules Archon owning member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Sorry to hear that. I bet you love it when you get the next one. I had a belated and major revelation with my Custom 50 tonight. A legit "holy crap" revelation. I'd love a 20 head or combo after what I got tonight. I'd drop my Red Fang Alnico in that thing and just play Robin Trower all day!
     
  12. andy474x

    andy474x Knows the Drill

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,819
    Likes Received:
    815
    I boosted the lead channel with a Wampler Tumnus the other day... holy cow! The sound was really lively, added just enough cut and aggression. I'm sure most Klonish pedals would do the job... but it was cool.
     
  13. andy474x

    andy474x Knows the Drill

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,819
    Likes Received:
    815
    That is a lot of noise. On the other hand, you've got the gain CRANKED and the master pretty high too. The Custom amps have a ton of gain on the lead channel, I've never used mine turned mine up past about 1 o'clock, and master at noon as you have yours is getting close to the actual volume ceiling of the amp, if it tapers similar to the 50, I would say 2 o'clock is about the max. Definitely go through your preamp tubes, then power tubes, could be a gain stage, phase inverter. Also, it could be a power issue from your electrical, if possible try power in a different room, or even a different building, if you've not already.

    If you'd like, I can set mine up similar to your settings and see how it does with noise when I get home later tonight.
     
  14. DreamTheaterRules

    DreamTheaterRules Archon owning member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    I was ready to buy one of those then saw the Pete Thorn demo of the new Deluxe model. It sounded great!
     
  15. bodia

    bodia Authorities said.....best leave it.....unsolved

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8,254
    Likes Received:
    5,954
    Ditto! That Deluxe looks, and sounds, awesome. Must.Resist.Temptaion.
     
  16. DreamTheaterRules

    DreamTheaterRules Archon owning member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Nah... We need one!
     
    bodia likes this.
  17. bodia

    bodia Authorities said.....best leave it.....unsolved

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8,254
    Likes Received:
    5,954
    I concur. Eagerly awaiting your review!
     
  18. mad monk

    mad monk Junior Mint

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    77
    Sorry you sent it back. I bought a Custom 20 head that went back to the factory once. Yeah, the gain channel was/is a bit noisy for me, but it sounds fantastic. I'm strictly a basement player and am always within 6-8 feet of the amp. The clean channel is fairly righteous, too. I won't part with this amp.
    If you find another, snatch it up.
     
    DreamTheaterRules likes this.
  19. Chester

    Chester New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    From the clip, sounds like a preamp tube problem. IME, noise issues are usually tube related and easily solved with a low noise "balanced" replacement

    My Matchless Indy was a white noise terrorist until I put balanced replacements into V1 and the PI slot. High gain Mesa's also tend to go "white" when preamp glass goes out of whack, but easily fixed

    Hope you find a good replacement amp - I am still gassing for a Custom 50, but getting them in the UK is a nightmare these days. And for whatever reason, HX/DA's are unavailabe to the UK market .. word from the distributor direct :mad::mad:
     

Share This Page