PRS CU24's Tone

tyt921

Hi guys,

I received my brand new Prs Custom 24 a few days ago, Been playing it since. I am a beginner and started only a month ago. I love the sound, it has a really unique character to it that I did not find present on the Epiphones which was my previous purchase but returned. So I play soft rock with some heavy distortion sometimes and i find that this guitars tone falls thin when it comes to the the distortion powerchords im striking together. I dont know how to explain this but I compared this tone wth my ESP starter pack F-10 and the ESP has a much heavier tone for when I am striking.

2 culprits I am thinking of....

1) Amp....I am still using the starter amp. But doesnt make sense because I am using this same amp with my ESP and it play well

2) Strings...On the ESP I thnk they came with gauge 10 strings. They are super hard to bendand they feel thick and hard when I press them....maybe this contributes to the difference in tone texture?

thanks!

Congrats on the new PRS. Does it have the 57/08 pickups, they may be less output than the ones on the ESP. Could be the amp to, a custom 24 even with 57/08's can rock hard. I have one in the bridge of my Studio and it can get real heavy.

The emg pickups are active which will give a higher output. The prs has passive however I'd look at tweaking your amp or replace with a little better amp.

the f-10 doesn't have active EMG pickups.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/ESP-LTD-F-10-Electric-Guitar-107409849-i1797699.gc

So you went from a $189 guitar to a $2700+ guitar in only a month? That's impressive!

And you're using a "starter amp", which I am willing to bet isn't going to get a lot of great tones from it other than chuggah chuggah. Just keep at it and upgrade your amp when you can.