Necessary Upgrades for 2010 McCarty (if any)

Asiafish

Slightly related to my earlier post on strings.

I'm a new guitarist and just ordered a used 2010 McCarty to supplement (dominate?) my current guitars (Martin 000-15M and Fender American Professional Telecaster. The guitar is entirely stock, except the previous owner put 9s on it and changed out the bridge to a Schroeder fully-adjustable (the original PRS bridge is included).

I plan on taking it to a local luthier as soon as it arrives next week for a proper set up, will put 10s on it (thanks for all of the answers) and wanted to know if there is anything else I should have done. I know that the new PRS Core guitars all have locking tuners and mine has "vintage", which I would assume are non-locking. Is that a worthwhile upgrade? My other two guitars each have a bone nut, does my McCarty? Is it worth upgrading/changing? My guitar has PRS 57/08 pickups which from what I can hear (youtube videos) are pretty kick-ass. Is there anything significantly better for a fat 1950s/1960s hum bucker tone?

Thanks again. I am super excited about this guitar. Even though it is used, it was actually a bigger purchase than my two new ones, and I'm guessing will be my primary instrument.

Congrats. That's a great guitar. Here's my take on your questions....

1) Vintage tuners. There is no need to upgrade. I have them on my SC245 and the tuning is ultra-stable. I would never consider changing them.

2) Nut. The PRS nut is perfect. I would prefer to have the PRS nut over a bone nut. The only guitar I have with a bone nut is my 594.

3) 57/08 pickups. Those are my favorites. They are exactly what I like to hear in a pickup. I have two guitars with the 58/15LT pickups, and while they are really nice too, I prefer the 57/08s.